Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 p.m. - 2005-06-22
Never found the words to say.
Headaches from the smoke absorded through clothing, sing-a-longs, and speeding cars, and I swear this is summer because I haven't slept in days. Packing bags, bagging groceries, conversation with costumers and your accent is beautiful. Children the color of the season lay about, lounging, leaning, lazing on top of each other. Barely dressed and ready for adventure, but there's no adventure tonight. Tonight we have curfews and smoke signals mean we'll be sneaking out before we're even getting in; secrets with our windows. The trees don't approve and they're making a point of knocking on bedroom windows. "hellohello, wake up and catch the falling stars." But I have friends in the enemy territory and when we wage war, we always get a bargain. But we'll still smell like smoke in the morning. "Do you know what this is?" "Yes." I do. "want some?" and I shake my head and pull back, hugging myself and feeling small. "Don't forget"- a whisper and suddenly cars are speeding by again. Fasterfasterfaster and there's laughing and iolation and a barrier. Sometimes fires don't go out when you're done playing with them. They're cutting down trees to save the forest and planting flowers to stop the rain, but no one finds that ironic. Irony tastes different lately; sweet and salty. Well, maybe a tidal wave is coming and maybe tomorrow we'll finally not smell like smoke and we'll finally have to wash our clothes and faces and take a deep breath of the dirty city air, but that's tomorrow and we've still got a while because the sun isn't up yet. Never fall asleep before the sun comes up, who wants to live by a schedule?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!