Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:03 p.m. - 2004-12-23
Don't wait a minute more
Tonight's song:

"When you're alone and life is making you lonely
You can always go - downtown.
When you've got worries all the noise and the hurry
Seems to help
I know - downtown.
Just listen to the music of the traffic in the city
Linger on the sidewalk where the neon signs are pretty
How can you lose?
The lights are much brighter there
you can forget all your troubles
Forget all your cares
so go - downtown
Things will be great when you're - downtown
No finer place for sure - downtown
Everything's waiting for you.

Don't hang around and let your problems surround you
There are movie shows - downtown.
Maybe you know some little places to go to where they never close -
downtown.
Just listen to the rhythm of a gentle bossa nova
You'll be dancing with 'em too before the night is over happy again.
The lights are much brighter there
you can forget all your troubles
Forget all your cares
so go - downtown
Where all the lights are bright - downtown
waiting for you tonight - downtown
you're gonna be alright now
downtown
downtown
downtown

And you may find somebody kind to help and understand you
Someone who is just like you
and needs a gentle hand to guide them along.
So maybe I'll see you there
we can forget all our troubles
Forget all our cares
so go - downtown
Things will be great when you're - downtown
don't wait a minute more - downtown
Everything is waiting for you -
downtown
downtown
downtown
downtown."

"Downtown" - Petula Clark


Maybe I'm finding faith in me, or maybe I'm losing faith in you. Either way, does anyone really care all that much?

One day before Christmas Eve and the thermometer must be playing tricks on my eyes. I wish excuses worked against logic, but knowing what is right runs deeper then knowing what you want to be right. I wonder how many days until that blizzard gets here. Allow me to knit your newest coat, scarf, and while I'm at it I'll include a new veil. Your old one looks quite worn.
The decorations are set up and my mind resembles the balloons, but where have all the invitations gone? If i told you that they were in my pocket, that I dropped a few miles back, would you believe me?
I'm not sure what I did with our flag, but I think I lost it around the same time I saw you running through mud and then jumping all over it. maybe you were just having fun and wanted me to as well, but I can't help intuition and I wouldn't if I could.
The facts are, you're bad news and I'm the newscaster. I'm not a very good one, but when it comes to smiling and flipping my hair, i'm on in camera, lights, action, and we're live.
Begging for smiles and screaimg for fun, it sure beats silence and apathy. Leading a feel good revolution? My radio won't turn on.....because I unplugged it. Maybe it's broken, but I couldn't care less because I'm not willing to try it out.
There are three good reasons to be happy that today is the way it is. Step one, move to the right. Step two, move to the left. Step 3, wiggle and jump up and down. Do you see it? No worries, bud, you will in time.
The windows are glazed over because I set the circle around me on fire and the smoke is more then condensation. getting light headed means I'll finally get to all those exotic lands and maybe I'll send you a postcard. Hold your breath while I'm gone, ok?
Day breaks like an egg, because as hard as you squeeze it in one hand, it won't break, but if you disturb it, it will crumble and be a mess. Freeze it and then watch the magic. You could be teh magician if you were interested in learning a thing or two.
The fog is going in, because it rolls in and out with the waves at the ocean and right now it's high tide. See the moon?
Oh, man in the moon, who writes these tales of reality? They're getting it all wrong. Dare I try it, you say? Never. My pencil hasn't even been sharpened yet, for I haven't the time to leave my dancing shoes behind. My suitcase is never in one spot and on days the end with a happy letter, neither do I. It's funny how everyday ends with a question, I wonder what it's asking. "y?" Yes, "why." I won't walk upon the sea and depending on your question, I'll always ask for a rewind.
Don't pay me any interest, for I haven't sent the bill yet and worrying is for those who can't afford it. It's so nice. I want you to tell me that we're going to live up to expectations. I don't think we will. I think we're down and out in 5, 4, 3, 2, and.................

I can't end it. You're up. One out left in the game. The bases are loaded and it's all up to you. You can't deal with pressure. Too bad that's all we're serving today. It all depends on you. It all depends on you. It all depends on you.

Then we all woke up and wondered what weird dreams we had.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!